Any digital camera gurus here?

wolfc70

R is for Rust Coloration
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I am in th market for a nice "point and shoot" digital camera. I am currently looking at the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ5k on the high end of my price range, mainly due to the very nice display and the Leica lens. I do not need a digital SLR, as I have a very nice Konica 35mm SLR. I was also looking at the Nikon CoolPix S560 at the lower end. What are things I should look for. My old digital camera was an HP 4 megapixel one that was six years old. So I have very little knowledge on what to look for. I would like at least some form of optical zoom. Are there any other brands to consider (Olympus, Canon, HP)? Any help would be appreciated! My price range is $400 USD and under.

DaveMc

Reaction score
Visit site
Not a digital camera guru, but two things top my list: 1) Batteries: do you want to replace batteries or have a battery pack?; and 2) Do I have to install any junky software to use it? I refuse to use anything that the camera maker thinks will dramatically enhance my picture viewing experience on my computer...

Batteries are less important to me now with the "e2" style that lasts a long while.

I've had good luck with the Sony PowerShots. You can get a decent one under $200. Pixels and other techy stats are less important now that most come with WAY more than what a point and shoot should ever need...

Just my $.02

Dave

Wolfman

Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Panasonic lumix tz15.small,big viewing screen,leica lense,10mp,no crap!great camera! My 2 cents!:thumbup:

steveindenmark

Older Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I have the Canon Powershot A720IS it has 8 megapixel. First thing I would say is that unless you want a lot of HUGE poster pics then 8 megapixel is great. I have just published a book with double pages 50X20 cm and the photos are pin sharp.

I am a point and push man although I have just bought a DSLR which I do not know how to use.