Water Wetter?

Ohendo

Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Can't comment since I've never used it before, but it appears to be an interesting product. I don't see the need, though...I don't race, and my engine temp has never been an issue.
I'll be interested in the feedback from people who do use it, however.

VEGASRIDER

100K Mile Member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Yes, also there are threads about this. It works great! Only reason I switched is because I needed anti freeze for the winter. I may switch back know that the freezing temps has passed.

FinalImpact

2 Da Street, Knobs R Gone
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Re: Water Wetter? WHY? Track = Yes, DD = NO!

Unless you are racing there is no need for it. It lacks long term anti-corrosion properties that lead to rust and oxidation inside the cooling system. Granted when New, it holds up for a while, but why go there? Why risk it? Esp if it could freeze at your local.. .. ..

Look at the water pump and seals from track bikes over a 2 year period and then a bike with conventional ethyl-glycol/water. WW will be rusty mess and the other fine for 5 years.

Not worth the risk for normal street use.

lonesoldier84

SuperFlanker Moderator
Premium Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Re: Water Wetter? WHY? Track = Yes, DD = NO!

Even if you're doing a lot of trackdays or getting into racing...you can just use distilled water on its own.

Unless you're running somewhere the track temps get really high or you are running long sessions and making your engine REALLY work I don't think it'd be a problem.

I've run distilled water on its own for 15-20 minute sessions on decently hot days (25-30 celcius) and never had any issues....even with an R1 which should put out more heat (...not sure what the volume is for fluids in the radiators for either the R6/FZ6/or R1)