Teaching to ride

04fizzer

Reaction score
Visit site
So my wife has decided she wants to learn to ride a motorcycle, and to get her license. I'm looking for advice on how to teach someone to ride.

I know, my gut reaction is "DON'T" as well, but that's not an option at this point. The MSF course around here runs just shy of $300 that we don't have. I've been riding for about 10 years, and have ridden all sorts of toys off-road for another 10 years. My problem is that I "know" how to ride, but not enough to actually spell it out to someone in order to teach them.

I've got a line on a loaner bike from a guy here at work. It's an old 73 DT 2-smoke ~200. I'm drawing a blank on the exact details right now. He's offered it up for her to learn on a few times, and it looks like we're going to take him up on it this time around.

So, with that mumbo jumbo out of the way, any advice?

fureinku

Reaction score
Visit site
start with explaining controls, once she proves she knows them,

move onto the clutch as they do in the MSF, start with just getting to bike to move by releasing the clutch gently, do this several times, until shes not stalling it

then with slight throttle rolling on, clutch release and braking...

when she starts to be able to actually ride it, i recommend having her shift up a few gears right away, its less likely shell over accelerate and flip outta control if shes going 20 mph in 4th gear

make sure she understands what pushing down on the handle bar means for leaning/swerving.. instead of pulling up on the bars opposite of the direction of your turn, push down on the handle bar on the same side as your turn, and that the slower the speed, the more independant your body lean is from the bike lean (counter weight the bike in low speed maneuvering)

Last edited:

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site