Getting Used to the FZ6

BamBam

Reaction score
Visit site
I've been riding bikes for almost 10 years and my FZ6 is the second street bike I've owned. The first was an 08 ninja 250r.

I've found that it takes a few hundred miles of riding through different conditions to really gauge how your bike handles situations; accelerating, braking, curves, etc.

Before my FZ6 I had been on the 250r for almost four years and I was so used to that style of riding that my first few rides on my FZ were incredibly weird...albeit, a really good weird, but weird nonetheless...

On the FZ6 I've found it sits much much higher and leaning into curves felt SO much different. I think after some riding i'll be able to shrink my chicken strips...not to any racing standards for sure, but...

What does everyone else think of the learning curve of the FZ6??? Or of switching to other bikes in general

SweaterDude

Broke-zillionaire
Reaction score
Visit site
the FZ is my first street bike, but i didnt find it too weird. but i have ridden plenty of other very different bikes from cruisers to SS bikes to MX.

the biggest difference too me was the lack of torque coming from full out MX bikes. but i really enjoy that screamer range (9000+ RPMs). oh and the brakes are a little weak stock.

Ssky0078

Reaction score
Visit site
Adjust your tire pressure and rear spring preload to your weight. I think the tire pressure was 33/36 for less than 185 pounds and 36/42 for over 185 pounds. I had my Spring preload right in the middle of the setting and liked it at me being 245. I could have gone stiffer.

When I got my Fz1, getting the suspension setup by a pro and the tire pressure set, made all the difference in the world. Lean in was a lot more fun and confidence inspiring.

Also I would say the Fz6 is rather nimble and flickable with a lot of guts. The inline 4 is a great engine and should give you some giggles when you get comfortable in being above 8000 rpms.

Last edited:

PurpleZJ

Reaction score