Eric, you're a bad influence...

Norm

Senior FZ6 Advisor
Reaction score
Visit site
I made the mistake of walking into my Yamaha dealership and asking my friendly sales guy "What if?" Since Eric traded in his FZ6 I can't get this out of my head. Obviously he's a super liked member and I always love his posts and learned a ton from him. So if he sees a big difference in the bikes I know I can take that to the bank. Now I want to be clear here. I've got 10,000 miles on the Fizz in 10 months. I've ridden it through the winter whenever I could, ridden in rain, and pushed myself to be a better rider. I've been riding now for about 6 years with about 30,000 total miles. But I know I'm still nowhere near most sportbikers skills. So I'm not saying that I can do what Eric does (cause I know for a fact I can't), but a bike with all those upgrades in suspension, brakes, steering, etc. should be safer too, wouldn't it?

Now there are 2 FZ1's in the showroom: A red 2008 leftover (brand new, no miles) and a blue 2009. So the sales guy begins defiling his shirt with drool and starts throwing numbers at me. He really wants to move the '08, really really badly. The '09 has been going nowhere fast as well and he tells me that there's just not that big a demand for the FZ1. He tells me that even with 10,000 miles he knows he can move the FZ6 much faster. So I go on his computer to check to see if there were any upgrades/changes from '08 to '09. He wasn't sure himself. I see no differences. (Eric, am I wrong about this?)