Back In School

B

Bo67

Well, after much thought I decided to go back to college and finish my degree.
I got an Associates Degree from the Air Force a few years ago but in my current job at the Department of Veterans Affairs I have peaked career-wise until I get my bachelors degree.
I declared my major in Social Psychology last month, had my credits transferred to the college I'm attending and will start school as a sophomore on Tuesday.
Some things that influenced me to do this at 40 years old:

1. I like my job at the VA but want to do better (both in level of responsibility and financially I will admit).

2. I have 4 kids (14, 11, 10, 6 years old). The oldest two are asking for help with homework that is beyond my knowledge. I either forgot it over the years or didn't learn it in the place.

3. There are some people where I work with their bachelors, masters, and doctoral degrees that are idiots in my opinion. You can tell they are in the VA for themselves instead of for the proper reason which is helping disabled veterans. They bitch and whine all the time about how tough their job is while they take home $70K-90K a year. It makes me sick. I worked on aircraft in the Air Force for 20 years in wind, rain, snow, a couple of wars etc... so my sympathy level for them is zero. I make $32K a year with the VA and know I could do their job ten times better if given the chance; that's where the degree comes in.

Sorry, this is turning into a gripe post but people like that have always bugged me.
I wasn't a stellar student in my youth but I've maintained a 4.0 GPA through college so far. Spending my own money on it seems to make me work harder I suppose.

This semester will be a snap; I'm only taking two classes. Next semester will be tougher: 3 classes, a full time job and teaching the state motorcycle safety course on the weekends will zap most of my time but I think (and hope) I can handle it.