05 FZ6 Cutting out and Died at Idle

VeeDubbinJetta91

Reaction score
Visit site
So ive recently got some cold weather gear and have been riding my bike around more...The other day i took it out for a ride outside temp was probably low 50s so not too cold anyways twice while on the throttle the engine cut out almost like i let of the throttle but alot harsher, then today while riding again temp was around upper 50s i was sitting at a traffic light just idling and the engine died, CEL came on i tried to restart, wouldnt, hit the kill switch and then back off and she fired right up, didnt die again... Any ideas on what it may be...bike just hit over 20k miles this past summer, has had recent oil change within the past 500 miles. Im a Car technician but when it comes to motorcycles im somewhat clueless...any help would be appreciated. Thanks!:)

S

Shamus McFeeley

Bikes are not all that different from cars, FI is FI after all. The obvious thing would be the throttle position sensor, I believe that the 05's were affected along with the 04's.

Some other (but probably less likely ideas)
Faulty kickstand switch
Starting circuit relay
Bad battery connections

Did you get any error codes when this happened?

VeeDubbinJetta91

Reaction score
Visit site
I dont know about any error codes as im not sure how to check them...i was sitting in heavy traffic at a light in the middle lane so getting it started and going was my main concern...how does one check for error codes?

abraxas

Biker
Reaction score
www.thinkbike.co.za
IMHO if this continues, check your charging system.

Rectifier or stator or both.

But check for error codes first, i don't have the link handy, but it's on the forum!

RJ2112

Reaction score
www.etsy.com