You guys know much about servos?

lawlberg

Booth Babe
Reaction score
Visit site
I've got a question - looking for someone who knows at least slightly more about servos than I do!

Application:
12V DC (my bike) (probably would need resistors or something to bring it down to 6v I'd assum)

I want a servo (or rotary solenoid/actuator) to run off of a 2 way switch that will flip a small plate (roughly license plate sized) between 2 positions of 0* and 60*, staying at either extreme. I would like it to center at 0*, and when I flip the switch (lightswitch style) have it rotate the plate to 60* and stay until I flip the switch back to the first position.

Most servos I know of will go ~45* in either direction from center, but return to center. If I got a servo that went 60* degrees in each direct I assume that would work.

The next challenge is wiring it without needing the signal pulse of an RC Receiver, I assume it's simple, I just haven't come across a way to do that.

Any help is appreciated!

scidork

Reaction score
Visit site
Just thinking aloud here but I know electric actuators for ball and butterfly valves go 90 and can usually be limited/adjusted. Of course something like that would probably be a bit big, cost more, and weigh more than a couple pounds. You could possibly make something with a linear actuator (aka. a solenoid although rotary solenoids also exist) and a pivot (think steam engine wheels where linear motion is translated to rotation by coupling the actuator to a radial point on a wheel).

You might look at something like this, from the VEX robotics kit (used by First robotics in their national robotics competitions for students). Or this from Radio Shack (which is pretty much the whole reason that the store exists)

For stepping down, perhaps this (google transformer or the like).

Then just a 3 way switch should work.