Transmission or sprocket?

Delasangre4231

Reaction score
Visit site
2007 FZ6 25,000 miles

So I noticed tonight coming home from work that everytime I take off from a light I get a nasty grinding clunking noise, none of this has to do with the normal chain noises and its not shifting noise. It is real bad in 1st and only in low RPM in 2nd as far as I can tell. To me it sounds like gears grinding or something. I am going to take the cover off the front sprocket in the morning and see if anything looks nasty. But what do yall think?

Delasangre4231

Reaction score
Visit site
Pulled the cover off the front sprocket and the teeth are curved, but the sprocket isnt loose. I am betting my chain is worn too. I am new to motorcycles so I don't know. I adjusted the chain to factory specs a few weeks ago and cleaned and lubed it.

This noise just started today out of the blue. its more of a feel the grinding through the frame rather than hearing it.

motojoe122

No ride is too far...
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Could be that your sprockets and chain are worn. Can you post pics?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TownsendsFJR1300

2007 FZ6
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Pulled the cover off the front sprocket and the teeth are curved, but the sprocket isnt loose. I am betting my chain is worn too. This noise just started today out of the blue. its more of a feel the grinding through the frame rather than hearing it.

If you can see the teeth worn/bent, itsworn out big time. The chain and rear sprocket very likely as well. If its the original chain (unknown history to you) likely, its served its purpose and all is due for replacement.

Its NOT unusual at all for worn chains (with even one or two sticky/frozen links) to make odd noises and actually feel it thru the bike itself..

You really want to replace it before it lets loose and potentially goes thru the engine and / or lock up the rear wheel...(not good).. This HAS happened before...