Seeking advice - First Street Bike for an experienced rider in Vancouver

datawiz2012

Reaction score
Visit site
Hello fellow BC riders,

I have been riding for more than 15 years but have always been on cruisers. I am looking for my first street bike and have narrowed down my options to Versys and FZ6. Can you please advise how well does the FZ6 handle in city traffic and highway (both are part of my daily commute to work). I have only sat on an FZ6 and haven't test ridden one yet and therefore am a bit concerned about the agilty and nimbleness of the bike in stop and go traffic. I don't have a very good back.

Is there any performance difference between the 2008 and 2009 FZ6 (I am not interested the R model). A local dealer said that the buzzy engine of 2008 was rectified in 2009. I didn't buy that claim especially for an extra $1500 out the door.

I don't do touring at all - maybe some weekend fun but 90% of the time will be commuting. I have been on cruisers as big as 1100 CC. Hopefully, I wouldn't find any lack of power or torque on fz6.

Looking forward to your thoughts.

Wavex

Lazy Mod :D
Reaction score
Visit site
The FZ6 is pretty nibble and agile in city traffic... compared to any cruiser, you will see a BIG improvement in that area.

'08 or '09 makes little difference. Go with the cheaper...

The FZ6 is not known for its torque figures, but you shouldn't be disappointed compared to a cruiser (cruiser may have more torque, but they're also a LOT heavier than the FZ).

I personally decided to stay away from I4 600s for the streets because they're just not practical IMHO (super high rpm range with all the power on top, which you really can't enjoy for obvious reasons, especially if you mainly commute)... but that's a question of tastes more than anything else...

Good luck.

Last edited:

Falcon1220

Reaction score
Visit site
:welcome: Welcome to the forum.