KTM Supermoto to the Pacific Ocean

Red Wazp

Reaction score
Visit site
To celebrate my 25 years as a business owner I traded in my FZ1 for a new 2010 KTM Supermoto T (tour model). I have always wanted a V Twin and I really like to ride the outback roads of Northern Ca but these roads are usually quite rough so a good suspension was in order for these old bones. No better place to test out the bike than Hwy 36 from Red Bluff Ca to the Pacific.

IMG_2656.jpg

About half way to the coast I turned on small tight back roads for some real testing. This would be the theme of my ride.

IMG_2658.jpg

The northwestern part of CA is huge but remote so very little traffic but lots of Cows.

IMG_2669.jpg

IMG_2662.jpg

IMG_2761.jpg

IMG_2705.jpg

Perhaps the KTM is part snowmobile

IMG_2752.jpg

IMG_2774.jpg

As I approached the ocean the Redwoods are always stunning.

IMG_2673.jpg

Finally after turning 140 miles into 270 I made it to the coast.

IMG_2735.jpg

IMG_2676.jpg

Our Aussie friends are just across the water.

IMG_2716.jpg

And here's the big reward after a full day in the saddle, geez even my snack food is orange :BLAA:

IMG_2744.jpg

A few thoughts on the Katoom

With the Akrapovic pipes that v twin rumble is just music.

It is a bit tall for me, can you say tippy toes?

Bumps in the road? What bumps.

V twin Rumble? Ya my butt was still rumbling a day after two days on the bike but it is a great machine for our mountain roads.
When it comes to long distance duty I'll still be riding my smoooooth FJR!

ckrockets

Reaction score
Visit site
It's funny you sold your FZ6 to buy the KTM 990 SMT...

I just bought a 09 FZ6 w/ 1500 miles mint condition for $5000 because I want to do some riding this summer and it's going to take me a year to save up enough to pay cash for a new 990 SMT.

The 990 SMT is my dream bike right now...the FZ6 is a awesome little bike it will hold me over til next year.

I probably end of keeping it for a backup bike...