bridgestone BT-002RS

ped

Reaction score
Visit site
i want to write a little review on these tires since they are new to the market.
im no expert so this is purely just my opinion, take it for what its worth.

okay first of all i want to clear up some confusion. bridgestone has had a DOT race tire out for a while now called the BT002. the BT-002RS are not the same. they are Z rated and marketed as a hypersprt tire for street and trackday use. with their dual compound design they are similar to the Pirelli Corsa III and the Michelin 2ct, except bridgestone choose the front for the dual compound. so far ive done two trackdays and about 2,700 street miles. the rear is done, which is typical for me.

the first time i rode on them was at a race track. i dont know if was the surface or the tire as it was my first time doing a trackday but i fell in love with them. i had emailed a bridgestone rep and was told to start at 31psi front and 30psi rear. since it was only 80 degrees out i decided to try 28/29. that worked great and they wore great from what i could tell.
on the street they seemed mediocre compared.
my second trackday was a bit different. i had about 1,000 miles on them at the time and the ambient temp was about 98 degrees. this time i opted for 31/30 as suggested intially. i never did find the confidance that day with these tires. they just didnt have the feedback like before and by the end of the day were slipping and sliding even at a laid back pace. on my part i didnt try to adjust or even check the temp at any point in the day to see if they were getting too hot. but i dont think that would have made much of a difference as i wasn't the only one running them that day, all with the same complaints.
the little bit of twisties ive done with them lately have been even more dismal. they dont seem to have much grip at all. i dont know if they have just got hard with heat cycles or what.