FinalImpact

2 Da Street, Knobs R Gone
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
[MENTION=29449]L3FTY[/MENTION]
L3FTY said:
Hello FinalImpact,

I’m writing because i'm chasing down an issue on an ’07 FZ6 and I very much respect your opinion and knowledge. I’ve been a lurker for a while and have followed your posts with great satisfaction. I've been turning wrenches on bikes for about 15 years now.

I have an ’07 that was purchased new for my sister in ’07 and cosmetically totaled in ’09. I refreshed the bike, and it was totaled AGAIN when my father was driving it back up to her in college. I refreshed the bike again and it sat for about 7 years. I recently pulled it out of storage, got it running (it started on the first try after the basic restoration procedures), and I converted it to a naked-spec. 9,500 easy miles.

The issue:
I note fuel pooling on top of the intake valves after shutting the bike off (approx. 0.5cc over each valve, all cylinders). This came to my attention when the bike required more revolutions to start that I remember. It acted like it was flooding. If started on the button alone it would crank for about 5 seconds and slowly chug up to idle where it would clear up. With the throttle butterflies cracked slightly open it would start instantly and immediately idle correctly. The bike has no issues off idle, but the oil smells slightly different than I remember. I might be grasping at straws with the oil smell, though.

Additionally, there was/is an intermittent misfire at idle when warm. Not sure if that miss is related. I’m also noting a slight temperature mismatch on the headers with my IR gun. Number 4 consistently comes in lower than the rest, however the gold coating on that pipe has been worn off as melted plastic was abrasively removed from that pipe, so I’m not sure if that is messing with the IR reading. The exhaust manifold clamps record temperatures closely between 1&4 and 2&3. I'll sync this weekend and see whats going on.