Fluctuating idle. Sound like a big cam

Murdock

Reaction score
Visit site
I picked up a laid over 2007 FZ6 with only 3200 miles recently and started working on a few modifications.
Here is what I have done so far.
1. K&N air filter
2. Dominator cat delete down pipe
3. Some Chinese Trash knock off Exhaust ( don’t judge me lol )
4. Power Commander Fuel controller
I am trying out one of the maps for open exhaust and cat delete. Forgot what brand it is for.
It runs through the gears pretty damn good.
The problem is when it idles. It sounds awesome but runs like it’s chugging for fuel or gasping for air. I was going to leave it be until I started practicing doing some full lock turns and the chugging was unpredictable. No low speed maneuvers for now.
The thing is I almost think it’s getting to much fuel.
All the values on the 0 percent throttle side are “5”
I talked to the local dyno guru. He said he could get it sorted out but I kind of like to figure out if there is anything I can to to tame it.
I have my idle set about 1200 to 1300 rpms

Any ideas?

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
:welcome: to our great forum!

There are a few things that you might do to help alleviate the condition but keep in mind you've lost a lot of back pressure for a 600 cc engine. All of the mods you have are pointed towards a motor that is supposed to gain ponies at open throttle. Idle is going to be different. Many manufacturers build exhaust control valves into their systems so that when needed, back pressure is released when required and the system can return to a more docile attitude where back pressure and sound pressure are kept more within street standards a regulations.