Over heating problem

Redonthehead

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi guys and gals.Newbie here I picked up an 06 FZ6 for a steal (now I know why) it over heats and bad. I need help. Heres the skinny, previous owner PO dropped the bike avoiding a car scrapped up the right side but not all that bad bent the fairing stay left side broke loose from bracket now hangs down Im gonna try to straighten it out if not ill need a new one. other than that it all works rides great just funky looking front fairing. Ok back to the over heating, the bars on the temp guage go to max at speeds above 50 or so but if i keep it under that it will go to 4 bars. Here is what I have done so far. Changed oil and filter, new thermostat (yamaha couldnt have made that any harder to change), new radiator cap and coolant. yes all of the air is out of the system, fan turns on at 4 bars on guage can hear it and feel it lol burnt the ****e out of me hand testing it lol so fan works. I can see fluid circulating when i pop the cap off in the radiator. so not thinking water pump is the issue but this is my first yamaha Im a CBR guy sorry. anyhoo I plan to fix this bike then sell but WONT pass this problem off to someone else like was done to me. any help would be appreciated.

TownsendsFJR1300

2007 FZ6
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Is the thermostat OEM or a knock off?

Short of the fan locking up (from a pebble kicked up), the cooling system is pretty stout.

I would check ALL the hose clamps for tightness (they DO loosen with the many heat cycles) and can prevent the system from fully pressurizing. With the engine hot, the larger hoses should be hard from the pressure, are yours?

I gather you checked under the WP itself looking for leaks. Inspecting VERY CLOSELY where ever a rubber hose attaches to a fitting is imperative. A small leak can evaporate very quickly and never hit the ground. Also, check that there's no coolant in the oil...