Lithium Soap Grease

C

CombatPenguin

Ok so the service manual says to use lithium soap based grease on most of the lubrication points. My question is the only stuff I can find just says lithium grease and doesn't mention soap at all, is this the same stuff? Also whats the difference between the regular and white lithium grease, will that work ok?

RJ2112

Reaction score
www.etsy.com
Lithium grease should be fine..... I've been using Honda branded spray on lithium grease for the past four years without issue. now, I'm going to have to go find out what the difference is between regular petroleum based grease, and lithium grease. (obviously, one has lithium in it....... but why?)

Timken Multi-use Lithium Grease EP1 and EP2 Product Spec Sheet | datasheetpro.com

It seems that lithium greases do a better job of rejecting water.... that's good enough for me.

Last edited:

Denver_FZ6

Reaction score
Visit site
My (limited) understanding is lithium-soap grease is redundant way of saying lithium grease.

And because I live on the edge, :rockon: I went with dealerships recommendation of Bel-Ray waterproof grease for chassis lube points and steering bearings.

Norbert

crash tested
Reaction score
Visit site
Well I have to give a plug for Mobil One Synthetic grease:

https://www.mobiloil.com/USA-English/MotorOil/Other_Products/Mobil_1_Synthetic_Grease.aspx

Apparently there's semi-synthetic lithium grease and full synthetic. Just to confuse the issue more.

For whatever grease you decide to get, be sure that it can stand high temps and is resistant to wash out. Anything has to be better than the grease Yamaha uses in the factory. I am not impressed by it.

Come to think of it, I've never seen a ten page "What is the best grease to use?" thread. Maybe it's time.....:sinister:

Last edited:
C

CombatPenguin