Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    deathjam4 (OP)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Chattering on take off

Hi so i am new to the yamaha series bikes. I bought mine used at 36000 km. It is a usa bike and i live in canada.

So this bike was drove by a lady who basicly let mechanic shops maintain her bike and they did only the most basic of maintanice on it. So i already know and am planing to service my calipers*slightly sticky*, steering bearing* never been serviced*, wheel bearings*no clue if ever done but replacing regardless.*, fork seals* never been serviced*, swing arm bearing *never been serviced * and may even take top end apart and have it cleaned out and the throttle body.

This all aside i am also going to be checking checking the plug wires and replacing the plugs.

So i noticed something concerning the top end on my bike. I can hear on a dead stop heavy take off something that sounds like a metal sleave vibrating metal on metal and it sounds like it may be a valve or something in that area of the bike. It runs and drives preaty smoothly so i dont think its a valve. Also the bike ticks loudly during operation and gets worse the longer it runs. I seen am article about that but i figure in my case it may be a gummy system due to the lady leaving the bike sit in a garage or yard for nearly a year.

Any suggestions or insights would be great. I do all my own work and am lookimg forward to getting this bike in tip top shape. So any services people would recomend i do would be great as well.

Thanks from deathjam4

Vrrroooooom! Chattering on take off Motogiro's Avatar
    Mentioned
    97 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Chattering on take off