Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    deathjam4 (OP)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Chain and sprocket sizes

So I am busy looking for chains and sprockets for my bike. My question would apply to mods and upgrades as it involves changing sizes of parts.

So I read going down in size of front sprocket speeds you up and up in the back makes it more faster. This is not he part I was wondering about.

What I am interested to know is if I go from chain size of 330 to 320 will it make a difference over all or no.

I am still pretty new to figuring these things out so mostly just fishing for info. And if I powder coat a sprocket will it last (provided I donít paint the teeth.) on a steel one.

Thanks ahead of time for replies.

Vrrroooooom! Chain and sprocket sizes Motogiro's Avatar
    Mentioned
    97 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Chain and sprocket sizes

Motorcycle chain size fitment chart - chain selector - chain size explanation

Your stock chain should be 530 some will try to sell you a 520 but I would replace it with the original 530 chain and matching sprockets. Some also change sprocket ratio but again......
    Last edited by Motogiro; 07-31-2019 at 12:19 PM.
    If you can't fix it by hitting it with a hammer, it's electrical!

Clif
    SoCal Hoon

3. Thanks TownsendsFJR1300 thanked for this post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by deathjam4 View Post
    So I read going down in size of front sprocket speeds you up and up in the back makes it more faster.
    Going to a smaller front sprocket, OR going to a larger rear sprocket provides for quicker acceleration - at the expense of top speed and higher rpm at highway speed. As a general rule of thumb, going up 3 teeth on the rear is the equivalent of going down one tooth on the front (actually counter-shaft) sprocket.