High side ??

hunterfz6

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey, now that im around 800 miles on my new red fz6, I am getting more confident in the higher rpm area. I dont mind cruising at 80-85 in short bursts as long as there are no cars around me. I'm more worried now that i'm going faster about the possibility/potentiality of a high side whilst cruising on a straight. Uneven pavement? rocks? branches? just bad luck? I dont have much exp riding bikes so i'm really a rookie with a screaming banshee under my thighs. Ok, thanks for any input. I read a lot about highsides and learned some of the ways to get out of one, or just lay er down. If your going in a straight line 80+ mph is it very very safe (unles) stray object? or over brakeing?

W

wrightme43

Only way as far as I know is to get the rear wheel locked not moving, and get it out of line with the front wheel, and then let it start spinning again.

At that point I believe the 90 degrees to the plane of motion like with a gyroscope kicks in and Whoop there you go.

So Dont lock the rear brake always keep it rolling and you have no real worrys.

S

sportrider

80MPH is far from dangerous!!! I'm not a poster boy for safety by any means. telling you to keep it all safe and legal would be hypocritical coming from me. I do however have a lot of experience and have logged many 1000s of miles on two wheels. I have had close calls some of which were caused by being overconfident or "riding over my head" others were just being in the wrong place at the wrong time. I have learned from my mistakes and from the mistakes of others. the risk of high siding is greatest in a corner. Steve already covered the physics involved. I had a Katana 600 that had some "issues" I was riding one time and went into a full on tank slapper at 60+MPH and managed to ride it out. no high side.
the best advice I can give you is Relax and don't ride over your head.