Clutch Cable Lube

Alterin

Reaction score
Visit site
Do I need to completely remove it to lube it? I'm having trouble getting it detached completely...
doh.jpg

I can fit the cable luber thingie as it is, is this fine?
enough.jpg

... probably is, but thought i'd check... And it shouldn't be that hard from the point that I got it?

Yeah I'm a noob. :p

Hellgate

Moto Demi-God
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
You got it, squirt until it runs out the other end. Wrap both ends in a rag to control the mess. :thumbup:

Wavex

Lazy Mod :D
Reaction score
Visit site
I used to lub my clutch cable without taking it out at all... now I see you have the proper tool, so you`re better off doing it properly, but if one day you need it done quickly, you can just spray some chain lub, or WD40 directly onto the cable from the back of the lever... spray for 2 seconds, press/release the lever 5 times... repeat 5 times (with the handlebar turned to the right, which will add a slight angle and make it easier) :thumbup:

08fz6

Make no excuses!
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
cable luber is the way to go, i wouldnt use chain lube since most are sticky, you will end up with a dirty sticky mess. but wd40 or cable lube is good, wd40 smells a lil better, most cable lubes are nasty smelling

OZXJR

Super Moderator
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I used to lub my clutch cable without taking it out at all... now I see you have the proper tool, so you`re better off doing it properly, but if one day you need it done quickly, you can just spray some chain lub, or WD40 directly onto the cable from the back of the lever... spray for 2 seconds, press/release the lever 5 times... repeat 5 times (with the handlebar turned to the right, which will add a slight angle and make it easier) :thumbup:

+1 Thats exactly what I do and still on original cable after 26k.

Pirosko

Reaction score
Visit site