Fred Interview

grommit

...M
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Somebody who likes hot air :shakehead: Fred...

What do you do for a living?
I'm a student at Austin Community College, studying towards an Associates in Mechanical Drafting. Once that's complete, I may enroll at the University of Texas to become a Mechanical Engineer. It's more likely that I'll just go back to work. I miss having a job.

How long have you owned your FZ6?
Seven months.

What other modes of transport do you have?
1995 Nissan pickup for hauling things.
2000 Honda Insight (70mpg grocery getter)
07 FZ6
1990 BMW K-75 Turbo project. I've had it running but am redoing the turbo system, so it's in pieces at the moment.
Homemade chopper. The front end of a BMW K-75 welded to the back end of a pocketbike, with an office chair seat. Made for $40 as part of a contest.
Specialized Rockhopper mountain bike for commuting to and from school.

If you could have any bike what would it be?
An FJR for touring.

What are your hobbies apart from the bike?
Gardening, welding, machining, reading science fiction, playing Magic the Gathering/Addiction.

What is the best place you have visited on your travels and why?
The Chisos Mountains in Big Bend National Park. I spent a week camping and hiking solo up there, had a blast!

Describe yourself in three words?
Tall. Moral. Irish.

If you could redesign any household (including garage) appliance what would it be and why?
The kitchen sink is a total failure. The bowls are too small to fit a cookie sheet, so you can't wash it without making a mess all over the counter. The faucets are often too low, making it hard to fill up large stock pots. The sink should be mounted below the counter top, not above, so you can easily clean the counters by sweeping everything into the sink. And there should be three taps, not two. Instead of Hot and Cold, the kitchen sink should have Hot, Cold and Phở.

Which invention in history would you most like to have come up with?