Stop Lights

shaggystyle

Hummingbird slayer.
Reaction score
Visit site
I feel like such a noob asking this, but what do you guys do when you pull up to a stop light and your bike isn't heavy enough to set off the sensor? I've been having this happen to me a lot lately and so I thought I'd get some advice from the source of all my motorcycle knowledge (you guys :D). Typically I try to wait for a car to pull up on the sensor across from me or someone to come up behind me, but that doesn't always happen. In those situations I just wait for traffic to clear, double check for the po-po and then pull out anyways. Once (this is when I was an ultra n00b and I was really scared of pretty much everything) I jumped off my bike and punched the cross walk button:Im With Stupid:.

Limey

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi There, I am A real Noob But picked up some good advice in my road riding course that might help....

up here in Kelowna we have lights which are vehicle activated,
The way this is done is with an electromagnetic field(metal detector)
this is what is used in most places these days,

It is identifiebla as a buried wire is embeded in the pavement about 3 ft back from the stop line,intended stop point .

This can be either a circle,square or diamond shape layout and can usualy be seen as a different fill material above the wire.

any how this is great for cars trucks etc as they have their largest metal mass directly over the sensor wires when pulled up to the stop sign.

For motorcycles much smaller mass this is not usually the case.

the best solution is to stop with the bike covering as much of the wire as possibe, not the center of the circle or diamond but rather over as much of the perimeter,or edge of the sensor as possible,

this seems to work for me in my area and may be similar situation where you are.

Les.

S

sportrider

most of the lights around here change but, if they don't, I treat them like a stop sign.

W

wrightme43