FZ6 wheelie truth or really myth

Nelly

International Liaison
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Right, I am not an expert, got my knee down once by accident. I have a reasonable level of machine control and ability. How do you wheelie one of these things with out:A. Falling of the back.
B. Buying a new chain & sprockets avery other week.
C. Turning black leathers brown.
I must admit I can get the front up after canning the FZ6 for a few yards and the front skips of the floor. I would really like to execute a nice floating front in the air kind of wheelie. Any advice, or if this is not do able on a standard geared motor what do I need to d:needpics::Sport:eek:. The apprentice awaits.......

S

sportrider

to carry a wheelie far you have to get to the balance point and carry it there.
I don't ride wheelies far but the two ways I have done them is
1. bring the Rs up to 9000 RPMs very quickly roll off the throttle than get back on it WOT the front end will come up extremely fast!!! when you get it where you want it back off the throttle a little the front will stop raising, before it starts to fall get back on the throttle and you will ride out the gear on a wheelie.
2. at a slow speed in first slip the clutch ( I use one finger) while revving up the engine, drop the clutch while keeping the Rs up, the front will jump up so be ready to cover the rear brake!!! if you get it up to the "balance" point you can ride a wheelie as far as you want by maintaining throttle control and rear brake pressure, I'll pop a wheelie like this,( I don't try to ride them out at the balance point) but I'm getting to old for that stunting game, I like my bike too much and I just don't heal as fast as when I was younger!!!

I prefer to use method #1 if I'm playing around. I don't let the front end come up very far,maybe 3 or 4 feet off the ground. its good enough to have a little fun but I don't feel like I'm on the verg of looping out.
:Sport:

pedwards89

Reaction score
Visit site