Remove front and rear wheel

Cribbe

Performance by Cribbe
Elite Member
Reaction score
www.cribbe.com
I am going to put new tires on the bike. I have been thinking of remove the whells from the bike myself but I have never done this before. Is it difficult? I have tried to look in the forum for a good "howto" but I have not been able to find one. I have read the service manual but it seems to be a lot of work? Or am I wrong. If somebody have som pics of this I would be really happy. I should say that I have ABS on the bike... :BLAA:

Last edited:

TownsendsFJR1300

2007 FZ6
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
I am going to put new tires on the bike. I have been thinking of remove the whells from the bike myself but I have never done this before. Is it difficult? I have tried to look in the forum for a good "howto" but I have not been able to find one. I have read the service manual but it seems to be a lot of work? Or am I wrong. If somebody have som pics of this I would be really happy. I should say that I have ABS on the bike... :BLAA:

Its really not that hard to do if you follow the manual, have basic tools and are somewhat mechanically inclined.

The front calibers DO have to come off first. **DO NOT SQUEEZE the ft or rear brake levers with the wheels off. Should that happen, the brake pistons extend out, you can push them back, but just don't touch the levers and save the headache.**

As for removing both wheels, put the bike on the center stand, break both ft and rear nuts loose (they should be around 87ft lbs). I would jack up the front with a small pice of 2x4 with a sizzor jack under the header (the front end is very light) and jack there, it won't hurt anything..

Both wheels will be off the ground for removal.

For any bushings/parts that come, you can have a piece of paper handy and write down where they go (ie: rt ft bushing, large end facing outwards, etc). It'll save guessing / mistakes later.