Looking for a how-to for fork oil change...

PrayHarder

Keep on driving !
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I have searched both the How-to, the Garage/Mechanical help, and the Mods forums and I can't find one, maybe I am blind, but I don't see it.

I wanted to change the oil in my forks to the 15wt that everyone says people should use.

I have never worked on forks before, so I would like a how-to. I will look through the manual, but pictures are always nicer!

Thanks

Ben

madmanmaigret

Mad like crazy not angry
Reaction score
Visit site
I haven't seen one yet.... sounds like its up to you Ben! J/K I dont think it is too hard but I remeber Havblue and Hellgate saying there is no drain or easy way to get it out. but if you have a suction pump or something similar you just remove the caps, suck out the fluid and re-fill. for more complete/better info PM Hellgate.

reiobard

Samurai FZ Soldier
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I have never done it but one tip i have always heard is to Only do ONE AT A TIME or they will both compress and the front end will be all the way on the floor...

FZ1inNH

********* w/ Twisted Fate
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I thought you had to remove the forks from the triples and tip them upside down then pump them several times to be sure you pushed all the oil out?

The other method, provided you're putting in the same weight oil, is to use a vacuum pump but I wonder if this gets all of the oil out?

I'm going to be dropping my forks on an upcoming weekend to do the Racetech Spring mod myself. I'm going to use DefyInertia's write-up as my guideline since he did suach a great job!

PrayHarder

Keep on driving !
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
So as I understand it:

1. Properly support the bike, so that the front tire is off the ground with no chance of it falling forward.

2. Take off one of the the endcaps on top of the fork.