newbie advice

oldgit fz

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi everyone.

My first post, so pls be kind

I have just passed my UK DAS test and was interested in a FZ6 brand new.

As usual, everyone keeps sayin to me try this try that, ie z750 / hornet
street triple etc etc and that the FZ6 aint as good etc etc.

Being a complete novice i am kinda lookin for advice from people
who do know about the bikes, that being you.
Someone even said the FZ6 had no mid range pull ? is that right ?

Remember, anything will feel like a rocket ship to me as only ridden
Kawa ER5 from training and test !!!

I am sorry if this has been debated before but i so badly like the look
of the FZ6 I just want opinions from people who have them :thumbup:

any advice greatly received

Oldgit

H

HavBlue

To me, the reason there is no midrange isn't the bikes fault, it's the rider's fault because they are in the wrong gear necessary for the engine to produce and torque in the first place. The FZ6 produces enough torque to get the job done and in the hands of a newb it could get away from you too. In that respect the bike can be rather unforgiving. Welcome to the forum..

Charlie

madmanmaigret

Mad like crazy not angry
Reaction score
Visit site
start here http://www.600riders.com/forum/new-riders-q/983-potential-riders-must-read.html

like Hav said the comparo's and write ups do not do them justice. the FZ has more than enough torque/HP for most people. Most people (including myself) do not feel like the FZ is a good beginners bike as you will see in the above post. But if you are confident in your skills and respect the bike you should come out o.k. also remeber the old saying "there are riders who have been down and there are riders who will be down" which one are you? do you want to down a brand new ~7K bike or a used ~1-2K bike?

grommit

...M
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Dear Old Git,

It is not what everybody else thinks that is important. If you can grab a test ride then you should.