Almost biffed it just now...

Explosivpotato

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey everyone, thought I'd recount my near-miss experience, along with a positive one. I apologize in advance for the wordiness..

A little history about myself: I'm a 23 YO new rider with an 09. I've been riding for almost 2 months, and around 2700 miles (bought the bike brand new)

Well I was out of Gin... This was a problem (no I have not been drinking today at all... yet - read on!). I wanted a martini with which to end the day. So I grabbed my backpack and hopped on the bike to go to the store (I would like to reiterate that I had NOT been drinking at all - for days. Just wanted a martini and I was out of the necessary ingredients).

As I was pulling up to a stoplight near the store, using both brakes to slow, everything was peachy. Then, as I started to lighten up on the brakes (down to around 8 mph now) BAM :eek: the back tire locks up and slides around to the right.

I tried 3 times to reapply the rear brake after releasing (was going slow enough that I knew I wouldn't highside, and holding the brake was not an option with how fast the rear was coming around due to the slope of the road) and each time it locked, even with the lightest pressure.

The suddenness of the whole thing, and the speed with which I reacted was pretty impressive. Adrenaline works fast, it would seem.

As I came to a stop, around 1.5 bike lengths past the stop line, I turned around to see a cager looking *very* worried, and around 50' of dark, splattery pavement that I had apparently totally missed coming up to the intersection.

MFer someone dropped a friggin oil slick!!

Well once I released the godlike clench on my butthole I backed the bike up to the stop line and all was well from then on..

I also wanted to share a somewhat positive (albeit minor) experience I had on the way home from work the other day.