Tyre Temperatures

Nelly

International Liaison
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I was wondering about this the other day.
Some of you guys ride in really hot conditions which obviously allows the air in your tyres to expand quicker.
Do any of you hotter weather guys take out air off the standard setting to allow for this?

Paradoxically most of my riding is done in much cooler conditions. Should I over-inflate the tyre by a few PSI to achieve the best possible performance?

Just wondering.

Nelly:thumbup:

rino60

Reaction score
Visit site
I've never deflated my tyres much - I simply assumed that as I ride in an allowable range for the tyres specs, that my PSI would be at least 95% of the optimum value

Erci

Howie Mandel's evil twin
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I'm no expert, but I would say overinflating tires in cold conditions is a bad idea. Higher pressure = less grip. I've always stuck to spec and it's worked very well for me, in all temps.

rino60

Reaction score
Visit site
I'm no expert, but I would say overinflating tires in cold conditions is a bad idea. Higher pressure = less grip. I've always stuck to spec and it's worked very well for me, in all temps.

And he wears a beanie! Listen to 'the man' :)

rino60

Reaction score
Visit site
But, he makes a good point. While temperature is directly related to pressure for a given volume of air, if you do fill your tyres up while they're cold, in snowy weather, the recommended PSI will suffice for any vehicle.

In the cold, the same pressure will have a corresponding higher volume of air - if you were riding from cold to warm, I would deflate slightly, and the same in reverse. But I WOULD fill to stock - a difference in temperature will purely mean a different volume of air at the same pressure.

Norbert

crash tested
Reaction score
Visit site
I was wondering about this the other day.
Some of you guys ride in really hot conditions which obviously allows the air in your tyres to expand quicker.