Engine Oil

Def

Reaction score
Visit site
I hear alot of talk about Shell Rotella T synthetic motor oil being used by members of this forum. Went down to Walmart to check it out here in Canada and couldn't find it. Could only find Shell Rotella T 15-40 dino oil. Funny thing is...it states on the can that it meets or exceeds the JASO MA standard. Has anyone in Canada tried this oil? Have you found the synthetic variety up here? Any thots?...or am I opening a new can of worms?:Flash:

chimneydoc

Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
It is a can of worms. For what it's worth I have tried the Shell and other oils, but for me I always go home to mama, Amsoil. It shifts better and runs cooler.

My .02 worth.

Doc

Fastwagon

Reaction score
Visit site
I've switched to Rotella T in both my bikes, Try Canadian Tire, they have the blue jug Rotella
I'm no expert, but plenty of good reviews on here and other bike forums,

RJ2112

Reaction score
www.etsy.com
I hear alot of talk about Shell Rotella T synthetic motor oil being used by members of this forum. Went down to Walmart to check it out here in Canada and couldn't find it. Could only find Shell Rotella T 15-40 dino oil. Funny thing is...it states on the can that it meets or exceeds the JASO MA standard. Has anyone in Canada tried this oil? Have you found the synthetic variety up here? Any thots?...or am I opening a new can of worms?:Flash:

In a colder climate, I would avoid running thicker base weight oils.... but a 15w-40 should be fine. Given the owner's manual states 10w-30 or 20w-40, the oil you are looking at is a bit thicker when it's cold compared to the 10w-30 spec. As the bike is water cooled, that means the operating temperature is much more stable than with an air cooled bike... the -XX number will be operating in a relatively stable environment.