what did I get myself into?

elwood206

Reaction score
Visit site
Hello everyone,
after a bunch of reasearch and a lapse in judgment, I just bid on and won this guy

its an 04 that been wrecked, forks are shot and need a few pieces on the rest of the bike.

FZ.jpg

Im a newbie to the FZ6, but not to bikes, ive got an 02 954RR that I love.
Thanks to whoever posted the manuals! Im sure Im gonna be all through those.
First up is gonna be the R6 for mod that ive heard a little about

Circe

Reaction score
Visit site
Wow, front end looks like the terminator after being dragged under a bus! That poor bike. Keep us posted on your progress.

J

jsteinb95

hmmmm....how much did you pay for it? Do you know what it's gonna cost you to fix it??? By the way.....welcome.

B

Bo67

Looks like a nice winter project. Good luck and keep us posted.

thatguyx

Reaction score
Visit site
welcome.

forks are shot huh? i know there are a few members on SBN parting out their bikes, you may be able to get the forks cheap. however i suggest picking up the r6 fork + caliper mod, you can get the spacers from FAZR6 on SBN. i got the whole front end forks + calieprs with newish pads for $300 shipped from another member, then 25 for the spacers, followed by $90 ish for ss front lines. not bad considering a new pair of r6 forks runs about $700 without calipers, while a new FZ6 front end is around $800.

after that plastics can be picked up on ebay, or ronayers.com if you want them new.

elwood206

Reaction score
Visit site
paid 1400$ (well still have to scrape it up and go pick up the bike) I figure bieng as cheap as humanly possible try to get away with a running bike for 2k, then work from there.

Ill check out SBN for forks, thanks for the tip.

I was planning on keeping in naked, probably a dual headlightkit and small flyscreen.

elwood206

Reaction score
Visit site