K&N Air Filter Install - Easy Mod

dean2287

Easy Rider
Reaction score
Visit site
I'm not a great mechanic but though I'd post some pics showing how to replace an air filter. If I can do it, you can do it! So get that OEM filter out and put in something worthy of your machine.

The procedure is in the owners manual under "Replacing the air filter element". I would suggest doing this when the gas tank is near empty. Note that there are 2 wire connectors under the fuel tank that you will need to unplug in order to lift up the tank fully. Also, the fuel tank breather hose and overflow hose that run down from under the seat will need to be pulled up a bit. Take note of where these go in case you need to put them back in place. I pulled mine right out and hung them up on the tank as they were leaking! When putting the tank back down again, be very careful not to kink these hoses.

PART 1...

Last edited:

dean2287

Easy Rider
Reaction score
Visit site
PART 2...

Wow, look at the old filter! That's after 6200 miles. I took pics from both sides showing the tank slightly lifted up and the hoses underneath. Be really careful putting in the new air filter as you need to be sure that it is in the groves before you tighten down the cover.

(note the proper use of the supplied stickers...)

Last edited:

jtarkany

Ronin
Elite Member
Reaction score
www.vcoe.org
Nice post and pictures :thumbup:.

Suggested shortcuts:
- You can avoid removing the fairing pieces by removing the bolt on the back of the tank, slide the tank back, lift up the front end of the tank and slide the bolt back in.
- Avoid disconnecting any wires or hoses by using two bungees, hook them into the front mount on the tank where you took the allen bolts out, hook the other ends onto the grab bars.

Hope this helps to reduce the time and work load for someone out there ;)

dean2287

Easy Rider
Reaction score
Visit site