Another SV question

knox

Reaction score
Visit site
Is the SV that much better down low? All I read is how you have to rev the FZ past 8 grand to get to the power. Is this true?

Thanks. Still trying to make a decision.

Mattberkshire

Reaction score
Visit site
Yes but it's a v-twin so can't rev as high and has less (much) power. Think of it in simple physics terms. With similar displacement the twin has two lumps of metal shooting up and down. The inline 4 has 4 pieces of metal half the size doing the same thing. The twin will therefore give more punch as it has more inertia (and therefore torque) (due to the larger lumps of metal) but the 4 can rev higher (because smaller lumps of metal moving up and down produces less stress on the engine) so produces more power. (Is this genius or what?)

I should point out at this stage that I am not a scientist. Maybe the Triumph street triple is worth looking at if you're not sure. 675 displacement and 3 cylinders giving the best of both worlds.

But also, the SV is old and crap and the FZ6 is modern and wonderful:confused:

knox

Reaction score
Visit site
My worry is that from stop light to stop light, the Dyno in the seat of my pants might be let down by the FZ6 unless I keep it wound up above 7K. Do you guys ride around in 2nd gear going 8K rpms when you are just tooling around town?

I know the SV will give you that pull, I am just worried until I ride them both.

W

wrightme43

Dude, the FZ slays the SV.
LOL

Once you experince full throttle past 8 you will find reasons to keep it there. LOL
Basicly if feels like the bike is trying to outrun you from underneath you.

knox

Reaction score
Visit site
I am coming off a CBRf4i, so I understand the inline 4 rush. I rode Deals Gap all the time, as well as the Cherohala.

I am past the need for speed, but am looking for a good street bike with good power at under "Screaming RPM Velocity".