Leather suit

opds9091

Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I am looking into buying leather suit or a 2 pc. As far as safety and track days, what is the best, 1pc or 2 pc and, whats the difference between leather and textile. As far as the suits (either one) how much do they cost and whats a good place to oder from.

Chris

GO!!!!!!!
Reaction score
Visit site
Hey. I'm no expert, but I bought a two-piece leather suit from Dainese this summer and it was really good imo. What's nice about it is that it zips together so it basically feels like a one-piece. I used a cordura (textile) touring suit before and it's nowhere near as comfortable as the leather. I think it's reasonable to think that a one-piece is the safest though as it has fewer weak points. A lot can happen to make the two-piece come apart. There's a reason why all the big guys wear one-piece leather suits..:thumbup:

GConn

Squid hater
Reaction score
Visit site
I use Dainese cordura pants & jacket for the winter & touring and leather for spirited riding. The reasons being:

1) Cordura is a good protective garment (over 750 denier)
2) Cordura is light = comfortable
3) Can keep you warmer (with liners installed) than leather
4) Cordura is one-use. It is completely compromised in a single crash. Leather may be repairable.
5) Cordura is a synthetic and its quality does not degrade over the years as the leather does
6) Tear resistance of leather goes down dramatically with a loose fit. Its tear resistance is higher than most synthetics when it stays stretched (i.e. snug fit)

Safety wise the one piece is safer, but that doesn't make the 2 pc unsafe. I would go for a 2 pc. Easier to get on and off. Easier to use on the street (for example when you make a stop you can take the top part off). Plus you can use the jacket only when you want to (although the 2pc jackets tend to run a bit short)

Red Wazp

Reaction score
Visit site