Polished my header

garmie

Reaction score
Visit site
I bought some Mother's Mag and Aluminum polish and got to work on the header. My bike is a 2006 with about 7700 miles and the header had surely never been polished before.

Before
20140407_193921.jpg

After
20140407_215630.jpg

It's still not quite perfect, but it's much better.

After I finished up, I noticed that my rear brake lever was bent inward toward the center stand spring so much that the spring was grinding a groove into the lever. I'm new to bikes so I didn't even notice the friction on the spring until close examination by chance. I bent it outward about a 1/4 inch and now it's all good. The bending was likely from the drop from the previous owner.

Last task was to remove the Warning sticker from the tank. No sign of it left except a barely noticeable ridge from the sticker outline.

...I had to share after being proud of my work. Thanks for reading.:thumbup:

Last edited:

tejkowskit

Gold Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Looks good. I plan to do this in the coming week..but did you say 06 with 7700 miles? Enough detailing, time to get out and ride! Blah

turbid

Reaction score
Visit site
stanless steel polish will not do much to remove the brown stains, there is no harm in trying but i did not find it effective, it does make the headers slippery though!

nice work OP

pester

pester
Reaction score
Visit site
stanless steel polish will not do much to remove the brown stains, there is no harm in trying but i did not find it effective, it does make the headers slippery though!

nice work OP

Thanks for the tip

sent from my s4

bdevries

Reaction score
Visit site
Thanks for the tip

sent from my s4