Newbie question: What tools do I need for an oil change and chain adjustment?

Johnson

Reaction score
Visit site
I am pretty new to the whole bike maintenance thing but due for an oil change and my chain needs to be tightened. I bought the oil filter and oil but not exactly sure what other tools I need other than the oil filter socket wrench. I know I need a torque wrench at 17 nM, 43 nM for oil filter cartridge and engine oil drain bolt and also a 16 nM and 120 for locknut and Axle nut but unsure what size torque wrench I need.

So this should work right:
https://www.amazon.com/TEKTON-24335...&qid=1508379166&sr=1-4&keywords=torque+wrench

I think there are enough youtube videos out there for the actual procedure but just insure of the right tool.

I have a 05 FZ6 if that matters.

Thanks!

Gary in NJ

Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
An oil change and chain adjustment are two good places to start your moto mechanic journey. You can spend a lot of money on tools...or very little. My experience is this; cheap tools will let you down and piss you off, so don't go cheap (cheap as in tools imported from China). I have always had good experience with Craftsman. With that said, I bought my mechanics tool kit 30 years ago and I can't attest to the quality of what they sell today. But 30 years of heavy and abusive use is a good indicator as to why you should buy quality tools. Sears runs great sales, and if they aren't on sale...ask the sales person for a sale price...they'll gladly discount a tool kit.

Brands that I typically recommend are:
- Snap-On tools are very good tools...and very expensive. Made in the USA with a lifetime warranty.
- I've gotten good service from Craftsman hand tools. Craftsman tools are still made in America. Sears also has a no questions asked lifetime warranty (I used it once for a 1/4" drive). Walk-in with a broken tool, leave with a new one.