Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register

Thanks Thanks:  18
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32
  1. #21
    beuwiq (OP)
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Nigeria
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to Change my Throttle Position Sensor (TPS)

    Quote Originally Posted by FinalImpact View Post
    Glad you got it operating again! Just a little bit of waiting and messing around!
    Here's to keeping dirt in plants and out of the tank!
    lol

    Thanks once again

  2. Thanks FinalImpact thanked for this post
  3. #22
    beuwiq (OP)
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Nigeria
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to Change my Throttle Position Sensor (TPS)

    Quote Originally Posted by FinalImpact View Post
    A quick recap for future reference. A lack of fuel pressure/fuel volume would hinder the engines ability to accelerate as the enrichment part of the fuel map is begging for more fuel, but the pressure and volume drop so it cant meet the demand and the engine misfires.





    JJD952 Fuel Pump causes misfire
    Nice recap really nice

  4. Thanks FinalImpact thanked for this post
  5. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Vietnam
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to Change my Throttle Position Sensor (TPS)

    Hi,

    My bike is 2005 FZ6N, it has some symptoms that makes me think about changing TPS:
    - Rough idle, cold start it usually idle at 1500, then when warmed up it drop to 1100 - 1300 rpm.
    - Hesitate rev up, poor throttle response. If I let off and then rev up the throttle, it takes some delay before rpm goes up. I feel like the throttle system or the chain has too much slack.
    - RPM is not stable while trying to maintain constant speed, it is going up and down, oscillating like I am trying to manipulate the throttle.
    - Vibration on the whole rpm range. It is worse at high rpm, in fact I am not confident to run more than 7000 rpm.
    - Sometime back firing (very rarely).

    I decided to change TPS. Today after disassembly all and take out the old TPS, I realize this old TPS has the shaft rotating clockwise while the new one I ordered has counter-clockwise shaft I never think there are 2 types of TPS which have identical look but 2 different shaft rotating direction??? What is yours? what is the original part number?

    Apart from TPS, what else do you suggest to check? I am thinking about throttle body sync, injector and pump clean, plug and cap check. What do you think?

    Thank you.

  6. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Vietnam
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to Change my Throttle Position Sensor (TPS)

    I am still waiting for the "clockwise TPS" to come. I will update the result after changing it.

    Here is another symptom I noticed recent days:
    - After riding for around 10-15 minutes, if I pull the clutch and release throttle it will idle at 1300 rpm, then I slightly increase the throttle, now rpm will decrease to around 1000 instead of increasing. Then I give more throttle, rpm will jump directly to 3500, it is almost no way to keep rpm at 2000 to 3000. (Note that I am pulling the clutch).
    - Then I switch off and switch on the key, it is then back to normal. Then it will happen again after 10-15 minutes riding.
    - But still maintaining constant speed is very difficult all the time, rpm is jumping back and forth, feel like it is oscillating and kick the tire, you can here the engine and exhaust sound change like a wave.

    Does it indicate TPS problem? Why does it disappear when switch off and on the key, then back after 10 minutes?

  7. #25
    2007 FZ6 TownsendsFJR1300's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Cape Coral, Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,318
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: How to Change my Throttle Position Sensor (TPS)

    Quote Originally Posted by mgdaubo View Post
    I am still waiting for the "clockwise TPS" to come. I will update the result after changing it.

    Here is another symptom I noticed recent days:
    - After riding for around 10-15 minutes, if I pull the clutch and release throttle it will idle at 1300 rpm, then I slightly increase the throttle, now rpm will decrease to around 1000 instead of increasing. Then I give more throttle, rpm will jump directly to 3500, it is almost no way to keep rpm at 2000 to 3000. (Note that I am pulling the clutch).
    - Then I switch off and switch on the key, it is then back to normal. Then it will happen again after 10-15 minutes riding.
    - But still maintaining constant speed is very difficult all the time, rpm is jumping back and forth, feel like it is oscillating and kick the tire, you can here the engine and exhaust sound change like a wave.

    Does it indicate TPS problem? Why does it disappear when switch off and on the key, then back after 10 minutes?
    Curious, did they send you the wrong part? I assume it's OEM, not a Chinese knock off your installing?

    The TPS can be checked by going thru the dash and slowly moving the throttle (open and closed) watching the #'s.
    There shouldn't be any skipping, all linear.

    The TPS can do some weird things when acting up (even if it passed the above test). Turning the power on and off and getting it to run
    normal, to me, does not sound like a fuel issue. That issue wouldn't change by turning off the engine and re-starting,

    Get the new TPS installed, one step at a time...

    I gather you've already tested the battery (Load test) and the tightness of the battery lugs..

  8. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Vietnam
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to Change my Throttle Position Sensor (TPS)

    Thanks for your response, TownsendsFJR1300.

    Yes that TPS I got from China supplier, although they said it is Japan genuine new TPS, part number is 5FL-85885-01-00 or 5FL-85885-02-00. Now they are sending me another one with clockwise rotating direction, let's see how it works, I am still waiting maybe for 1 more week.

    Unfortunately I got the bike without stock instrument clock, it came with Koso RX2 clock, so I cannot do the TPS test. I just try measure it by ohm meter and set it to 0.63 ~ 0.73V at no throttle as said in manual.

    For the battery: I did check the connection, the rectifier, and the stator, seem no problem. Battery voltage is 12.7V when off, 12.5V when key on engine off, at idle it slowly increases to 14V, and 14V at 5000 rpm. Is this normal?
    How to do the load test? and if it fails then battery will need to be changed?

    I too don't think it is injection dusty. I am planning to do step by step: TPS change, throttle body sync, then injector clean. I will update result of each step.

  9. #27
    2007 FZ6 TownsendsFJR1300's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Cape Coral, Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,318
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: How to Change my Throttle Position Sensor (TPS)

    Your voltages and charging system are all fine...

    Load test is done with a machine (auto parts store, etc) for free (here in US at least).

    A poor man's way of load testing is simply watch your volt meter as you CRANK OVER the ENGINE. If the voltage drops
    to approx 11 volts, it's on it's last legs...

    I doubt your issue is the battery.

    There was a re-call on the TPS's (at least in the states) that year. If you have a Yamaha shop nearby,
    they can look up your VIN #.

    If it's NOT been changed, they'll change it out for FREE, No labor, no part charge, etc. And it's genuine OEM..

  10. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Vietnam
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to Change my Throttle Position Sensor (TPS)

    Thanks TownsendFJR1300.

    I will leave the battery at last because its voltage seems to be ok and it is relatively new (1 year old).

    Since last 2 weeks the symptom is more clear pointing to the TPS: bike jerking at constant throttle or during deacceleration, and when engine is hot the idle rpm drops and some time stall, lose power. Is this TPS problem?
    It is not easy to contact Yamaha in my country, I will have to deal with it by myself.

    The TPS part finally arrived today after 3 weeks of delivery, I will give it a try maybe tomorrow.

    Now I have question regarding to how to correct assemble the TPS:
    - My bike doesn't have stock clock, it is Koso RX2 clock with the previous owner, so I cannot do TPS adjustment by looking at the diagnostic number on clock. I can only measure the output voltage of the TPS. The manual says it is 0.63V to 0.73V with closed throttle, I can do this adjustment during fitting the TPS, but I am thinking because the Idling screw is also affecting the initial angle of the throttle shaft (can anyone confirm?) then adjusting the TPS to have 0.63V~0.73V is not enough to ensure the right alignment of the TPS with regarding to the throttle shaft angle? Is my concern valid or I have wrong understanding?
    - If my understanding is correct then I will need the voltage of the TPS when throttle is fully open. Manual says nothing about this. Did anyone try measuring once? Maybe I will have to play with both adjusting the TPS and the idle screw to get correct voltage at fully close and fully open throttle?
    Last edited by mgdaubo; 11-27-2017 at 03:22 AM.

  11. #29
    2007 FZ6 TownsendsFJR1300's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Cape Coral, Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,318
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: How to Change my Throttle Position Sensor (TPS)

    I'd turn the idle screw down approx half ways for now. You may have to re-adjust once the TPS is in and it's idling.


    .
    Last edited by TownsendsFJR1300; 11-30-2017 at 05:18 AM.
    Scott
    2007 Yamaha FZ6- BD43 headlight mod, PIAA bulbs, Stebal air horn, Scorpion SS pipes-(no DB killers), Speedohealer, HEL SS brake lines, Fenda Extenda, K&P SS re-usable oil filter, custom mounted BMW style electrical outlet(L.S.), Techmount GPS mount with handlebar bar risers/set backs, additional helmet lock, custom mod'ed seat(Spencers), Hyper light-rear running/brake light, custom radiator/fan protector, Techspec tank pads, Grip Puppies, Yamaha rear rack with custom aluminum flat rack.

  12. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Vietnam
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to Change my Throttle Position Sensor (TPS)

    Quote Originally Posted by TownsendsFJR1300 View Post
    I'd turn the idle screw down approx half ways for now. You may have to re-adjust once the TPS is in and it's idling.
    I got it, thank you.

    From other photos of throttle bodies on this forum, I see the idle adjusting screw has no mechanical link to the throttle shaft, I think it is just tuning the air flow (going through another path, not through throttle butterfly valve) for idling, will not affect the angle of the throttle shaft at idle. So I will go ahead to change and adjust the TPS as said in manual, I will let you know the result.

    Thank you.
    Last edited by mgdaubo; 11-27-2017 at 09:53 AM.

  13. Likes TownsendsFJR1300 liked this post
 

 
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 186
    Last Post: 06-16-2015, 06:01 PM
  2. Need Crankshaft Position Sensor
    By VEGASRIDER in forum Bikes/Parts Wanted
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-29-2012, 10:43 PM
  3. Do you change your lane position at night?? (poll)
    By dxh24 in forum FZ6 General Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-14-2011, 09:09 PM
  4. PC III- Setting Throttle Position?
    By bushboarder in forum FZ6 Mods
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-08-2010, 07:06 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-03-2007, 10:43 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:31 PM.
4.2.5
Image resizer by SevenSkins
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like v3.6.3 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2007 , All content is property of 600Riders.Com All Rights Reserved. The opinions and posts on this site do not neccesarily reflect those of the site owners or operators.
Yamaha FZ6 and Yamaha rights are property of Yamaha Motor Company. 600Riders.com is not associated with Yamaha in any way. We are an enthusiast site dedicated to the Yamaha FZ6 motorcycles. Our goal is to offer a place for Yamaha FZ6 owners to discuss rides, events, mods, maintenance, purchasing, etc
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com