Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register

Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    hayy (OP)
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Error Code 33 - Replace ECU?

    Hi gents

    Posting here for the first time because my 2007 FZ6-S2 started showing error code 33 and it has been tricky to resolve.

    Symptoms / Causes:
    I'm still able to start my bike and ride. However only able to ride distances below 12 - 14km. If I ride any distance beyond 12 to 14km, bike loses power and eventually comes to a stall with Error Code 33. I'm able to start riding again by turning off the ignition, wait for a couple of minutes (in my noob idea, to let the engine + electricals cool down), re-start the engine. I would then be able to ride perhaps 3 to 5km before Error Code 33 shows up again.

    It is difficult to troubleshoot because I had to ride the distance in order for the error code to surface.

    --- so the first fix was to replace ignition coils 1 and 4, but Error Code 33 still shows up (what a waste of money) - so mechanic says it's probably the ECU that is faulty.

    Anyone here has experienced such a scenario before, and is it really the ECU that is faulty? I still can ride..just short distances... is it possible that ECU will malfunction because of the heat from the engine?

    Really appreciate it if someone could give me some advise...

    Curve ball: I do not have the red key with me...i.e. if I replace the ECU.. I will need to replace the entire lockset + fuel cap + the whole lot...FML...


    Please help!

  2. #2
    Vrrroooooom! Error Code 33 - Replace ECU? Motogiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    13,152
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Error Code 33 - Replace ECU?

    to this great forum!

    Yes. It could be a thermal intermittent where a component fails at a specific temperature range but.... Make sure you check the plug and pins at the ECU. Each coil is operated by the ECU and we've seen pins on the ECU or plug fail.
    If you can't fix it by hitting it with a hammer, it's electrical!

    Clif
    SoCal Hoon

  3. Thanks TownsendsFJR1300 thanked for this post
  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    116
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Error Code 33 - Replace ECU?

    I've had quite some experience with error 33, read the first pages from http://www.600riders.com/forum/fz6-g...lp-please.html

    Measure the resistances, and check all possible pins and connectors for oxidation.
    2004 FZ6 with R6 Fork and brakes, Leo Vince SBK Carbon Exhaust, Venhill SS Race brake lines

  5. Likes Motogiro liked this post
  6. #4
    hayy (OP)
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Error Code 33 - Replace ECU?

    Thank you gents for your replies!

    Yes we did check the connections, and pins when changing the ignition coils..but error 33 still showed, hence deduced that its the ECU that is f*cked...

    Anyways, so I sent my bike to a locksmith to get a masterkey done up..but Mr Locksmith is telling me he can't find the chip in the ignition barrel...

    Anyone knows where the chip is?

    He assumed the chip was here:
    Error Code 33 - Replace ECU?-whatsapp-image-2017-10-07-14-54-14-jpeg


    But when he opened my ignition barrel up....
    Error Code 33 - Replace ECU?-whatsapp-image-2017-10-24-11-35-00-jpg
    Error Code 33 - Replace ECU?-whatsapp-image-2017-10-24-11-35-26-jpg

  7. #5
    2007 FZ6 TownsendsFJR1300's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Cape Coral, Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,317
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Error Code 33 - Replace ECU?

    Someone else hacked that up????

    Looks like you need a new ignition switch...

    This place can re-set the switch: https://www.carmo.nl/index.php?main_...0a&language=en

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. 06 Fz6 with error 19 code bad ecu?
    By ct_quicksilver in forum FZ6 Technical
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-01-2016, 10:21 AM
  2. fz6 error code 51
    By fordy in forum FZ6 Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-12-2015, 09:52 AM
  3. Error Code 30
    By jnappier in forum FZ6 Technical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-29-2011, 09:14 AM
  4. error code
    By allnat21 in forum Garage / Mechanical Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-25-2010, 08:46 PM
  5. error code 01
    By brim75 in forum FZ6 Technical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-13-2010, 10:18 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 PM.
4.2.5
Image resizer by SevenSkins
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like v3.6.3 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2007 , All content is property of 600Riders.Com All Rights Reserved. The opinions and posts on this site do not neccesarily reflect those of the site owners or operators.
Yamaha FZ6 and Yamaha rights are property of Yamaha Motor Company. 600Riders.com is not associated with Yamaha in any way. We are an enthusiast site dedicated to the Yamaha FZ6 motorcycles. Our goal is to offer a place for Yamaha FZ6 owners to discuss rides, events, mods, maintenance, purchasing, etc
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com